Reactions to the Election

Trump won. How did nobody see this coming?

I listened to the election results on the radio as I drove from Edmonton to Calgary on Tuesday night. The host was calling and interviewing tons of sources, trying to find someone who could explain what in the world was going on. Meanwhile, Donald Trump took state after state. I pulled into Calgary almost the second it was announced that he had 260 electoral votes and would be the next President of the United States of America.

The news shocked and dismayed the whole country. Nobody could believe their eyes. Stephen Colbert was so floored he couldn’t come up with a joke. Everyone was so sure that Hillary Clinton had it in the bag. Why? Because the media told them so.

What, what? The media was wrong?? They lied? Well of course they lied, their jobs depended on it! Nobody wanted to hear that Trump could win, so they didn’t tell anybody Trump could win. Social Media created this stigma that Trump supporters were homophobic, misogynistic, uneducated hicks. “Trump” became a swear word, and writing “Trump 2016” was a hate crime. So of course mainstream media backed Hillary. They didn’t want to be labeled as homophobic, misogynistic, uneducated hicks!

I’ve said it a hundred times, and I’ll say it again: you simply can’t trust the media. If they tell you all Trump supporters are misogynists, go talk to one and find out for yourself. I happened to spend Reading Break in the States, and I had the opportunity to speak with a lot of Trump supporters. Surprise! Turns out none of them hated women and gay people. They just liked his platform better than Clinton’s.

I’m not going to try to explain why Trump won. He won because people voted for him. It’s pretty simple. To be honest, I too thought Clinton would win, but I knew it would be a lot closer than media would have us believe, and I definitely prepared myself for a Trump victory. I did my research, I listened to both sides of the story. Turns out I predicted the result better than the Pollsters.

I’m not even going to give sources for this one. The whole point is to do some research when we read things and find some sources ourselves. You guys knows it. I just wish the rest of the world would figure it out. You can’t trust the media.

-Your Slightly Disgruntled Neighbourhood Blogger (Hyrum Sutton)

2 thoughts on “Reactions to the Election

  1. Trump supporters may not hate women and gay people outright, but by voting for him, they actively made a choice to suppress women’s and LGBT rights. Racism, sexism, and homophobia are about to become more institutionalized in America than they have been in our lifetimes. The 25% of eligible American voters who elected Trump demonstrated a worldview that creates a framework for social issues like homophobia and misogyny and racism and climate change to flourish. I don’t think it’s a stretch to call them uneducated on that front.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. People have biases, people make mistakes, people are human. Whether they mean to or not, people aren’t perfect all the time and neither can the media. That’s why it’s so important that people double-check information instead of just taking everything at face value.
    The other day I was on Facebook, trying to avoid the obviously click bait articles. I came across an article with the headline, “Bernie Sanders Could Replace President Trump With Little-Known Loophole.” All I could think is yeah, okay, right. I would have ignored it, if it weren’t for the person who shared it. She’s really conscientious about sharing valid information. She urged people to read it, so I did.
    It began the way I thought until it took a turn. The article was click bait about click bait articles, and misinformation on social media. I appreciated the cleverness but more so I appreciated the solutions against misinformation.
    In the article, Matt Masur claims that, “The most important thing in a functional society is a well-informed public. What we have now is not only uninformed but misinformed masses”.

    Article- http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/bernie-sanders-could-replace-president-trump-with-little_us_5829f25fe4b02b1f5257a6b7

    Like

Leave a Reply

