Power To The Crowd

myscreenhunter

Crowd sourcing is a term that was developed by Journalist, Jeff Howe back in 2006. He realized that companies had become more innovative in connecting with its consumers, by simply hiring them or asking their opinion in order to advance sales. Flash forward ten years later and it seems that this original, and creative idea has done exceptionally well in terms of business, and even politics. Thanks to this inventive and contemporary way of doing things voters can now monitor the vote count during an election – which lets be honest, will come in handy on Novemeber 8th.

However, there are some reasons why this new way of doing things can be detrimental. Lets begin with Wikipedia; anytime someone decides to use the magical search engine – Google, this dreadful site comes up. It is quite literally the saddest form of an “encyclopedia” out there. Anyone is able to post an article or update an article. Meaning that crazy neighbour Joe (most likely a Trump supporter), who does nothing but sit on his couch and watch fox news religiously; dislikes any race that isn’t his own, and achieved no higher than a Grade 5 education, can post on Wiki. That would be the primary issue with this site; the sources are not credible, therefore, unbelievable! Amateurs are now able to take the reins, and completely confuse anyone who doesn’t know better, and believe what they are reading to be true. Almost everyone has run into someone who quotes Wiki before or used them as an origin for their information (disturbing as F!).

Another reason crowdsourcing can become an issue, is due to companies using an undefined group of people to complete a task, or perform a job, that was once done by hired professionals. This can be a dangerous zone, according to Howe, because they cannot be sure these individuals hired are the correct candidate for the job.

Thus, this new glorified approach of action, although more efficient and less costly for companies, certainly has its downfalls that shouldn’t be ignored, and perhaps, should be more monitored and less used.

In other words, do your research people, because the internet is a scary place.

Blanca Moreno

Check the source:

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Power To The Crowd

  1. Wikipedia has its problems for sure, but I think that overall it does more good than harm, especially when compared to traditional reference books. And that’s what it is really: a place of reference. It’s not a library or a classroom, it’s a place where you can double check facts and locate additional information sources.

    Take a look at the Encyclopedia Brittanica, the world’s greatest english-language reference book for over 300 years. It’s big. 32 volumes in its final print edition. It’s expensive. Over 1000 dollars per edition. It’s limited. Each entry, since there are so many, can only consist of a short paragraph. It’s biased in its own way. It was written by Western European men, for Western European men.

    Wikipedia has made such a huge amount of knowledge free and available to anyone with an internet connection. You can carry those 32 volumes worth of information in your pocket. The articles are expansive and diverse. I can read about “important” topics like the Napoleonic wars if I want, just like I could in the Brittanica, but I can also find a plot summary of Season 2 Episode 5 of the X-Files.

    Yes, my crazy neighbour Joe is on Wikipedia, trolling or spewing out propaganda. But I can honestly accept that and continue using the platform happily. I’m not going to base any of my political decisions on a wikipedia article, but if I want to find out what the hunting range of a Siberian Tiger is to satisfy a passing curiosity, I’ll put my trust in the platform.

    Like

  2. Well I can’t agree with you there, I have had conversations with people who have quoted wikipedia and i couldn’t believe what they believed to be true. I have also read in an article that it claimed David Beckham was a soccer player form the 1700’s. Anyone can start an account and edit, so I mean all I can say is to each his own. I prefer the truth when searching for any information and if I can’t trust a site for a certain topic then I just stop using it in general, but that is just my opinion. Everyone is different! 🙂

    Like

  3. Man, Wikipedia is one of the most amazing websites ever if you really think about it. I wouldn’t go so far to dismiss it as completely useless. An overwhelming majority of the articles on Wikipedia are truthful and are useful summaries or starting points for research. I would say that Wikipedia maybe warrants nothing more than a second opinion. But yeah people do mess with sometimes you’re right it and it is kinda funny lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I probably use Wikipedia more than I’d like to admit, but I keep seeing more and more criticism these days. With this discussion of its credibility in mind, I think I will keep perusing the site to get basic information (with a grain of salt on the side), but as soon as they ask for money my response will be a polite, well-intended HELL NO.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is impossible to escape the Wiki world. It is the first thing that pops up when I search on google, and not to mention the Wiki how for recipes and everything else.

      Like

Leave a Reply

