Real You vs. Online You

By Victoria Dean.

Have you ever ‘creeped’ someone on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter?

That was rhetorical question. I know you have. We all have.

Because so many people use social media, it is easier than ever to find out details about their interests, hobbies and political views. With that said, it is possible for a person to be online and not be robbed of all privacy. Obviously privacy settings help but each user can make a conscious decision about what they want to share and how they want to present themselves online.

People can choose not to be completely transparent through what they post. Whether it using filters that make ‘selfies’ more flattering or posting status updates that make them seem interesting or funny, users are capable of sharing the best version of themselves.

expectations-vs-reality-1

It also goes beyond the superficial self that we project to the world. For example, people express their political views differently online compared to in-person. On Facebook, there is commonly arguments from opposing party supporters. Discussion online can often become heated because people become fearless when they are separated by a computer screen. However, if politics are brought up in a face-to-face interaction, people will often take the high road and dilute their opinions to avoid conflict.

There are also positives and negatives to this. People in a Facebook comments section might be more willing to engage in subjects generally considered to be sensitive, and create a much needed dialogue that can lead to social change. The catch is that sometimes people feel that because there is a disconnect between themselves and the person they’re conversing with, there are no consequences to what they say.

2 thoughts on “Real You vs. Online You

  1. OK… I have to play the “old and out of touch card” here. Do people falsify their images and personas on line to attract or disguise themselves? Reading other blogs in this project has definitely raised my social media awareness platform. I was never one to trust social media but I kinda had it in my head that the people who used it were pretty much what they appeared to be on site. Do people put that much regard as to what the social media world thinks of them that they have to become an alternate reality on a social media site?

    If this is so it is going to be a major big bump in the social media road for me to get my head wrapped around…and just when I thought I was catching up too…

    Thanks for the great blog. Cam

    Like

    1. Hey Cam!
      I suppose it would depend on the user. I would like to think most people are genuine in how they present themselves online. I’d say they don’t lie about who they are online, as much as they choose to emphasize their more interesting qualities. For example, on my own instagram account, I share the photos of concerts I go to, or of trips I have taken, oppose to sharing a photo of my homework or something.
      I wouldn’t worry too much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

