#ChanandBlan Scavenger Hunt

Chanice:
This was a very interesting assignment that allowed us students to get a more in-depth perspective about Twitter. That said, there were some challenging elements that we were confronted with. The most challenging, to me, was having that 140-character limit. There was palpable frustration when an absolutely fantastic quote was just a touch too long to fit in the tweet, or that the tweet would have fit if not for the picture taking up necessary characters. You have to be very particular with your wording, because every word takes up valuable, crucial space.

Moving on, publicizing MacEwan via Twitter is easily done. In fact, Blanca and I publicized MacEwan in the majority of our tweets with the hashtag #MacEwanU. To publicize MacEwan well, however, you need to use this hashtag cleverly. We would need to know who our audience is to effectively use Twitter as a means of promoting MacEwan, and we would need to figure out a goal for the eventual engagement that will (hopefully) follow. Once we know both of those things, all that’s left to do is tailoring every tweet to its’ respective audience.

The phrase “short and sweet” accurately describes the way MacEwan uses Twitter, paired with many pictures and a generous garnish of emoticons. MacEwan also uses tags and hashtags with a heavy hand, but with great effect. They are also very engaged with their followers, they reply to many tweets directed at them and aren’t afraid to retweet. These techniques appear to be effective, as MacEwan is sitting pretty with around nine thousand followers. Honestly, there is not much that I, at this time, could do to improve MacEwan’s Twitter page. If I was apart of the MacEwan’s communication team, however, I would have to work on my own tweet’s wordiness, and how to make the majority of my tweets sound catchy and interesting.

 

Blanca:

One of the most challenging parts of this assignment for me was stopping people in the hallway; my reason behind this statement is simply that some people are unapproachable. They look at you like you’re speaking an entirely different language. Therefore, it was much easier to speak to people who were sitting comfortably; either sipping on their drinks or listening to music, which is how we were able to talk to most students.

Social media in general is an extremely convenient way to communicate or get amessage out; twitter seems to be popular for business and news reporting. Personally, I will admit I do not use my twitter very much because I don’t find it as popular as Instagram or Facebook. I find that using the most popular hashtags and posting at the time when traffic is highest can help advertise and reach a vast audience. The hashtags have to be in par with the category or subject you are posting about. For myself, I prefer to use Instagram to promote my poems and I am constantly checking to see which are the best hashtags to usefor that week.

The most effective is tweeting (or in my case posting) at the correct time, when everyone is off work or later at night after dinner. On Instagram, according to statistics, the times to post are said to be 5:00PM or 2:00AM; it also has a lot to do with the target audience.

I think MacEwan’s tweets (or Snaps) are too formal which makes it really hard for students to relate and start a conversation, I have asked a few people on campus about this, and the majority of feedback I received agreed that they are not engaging. Perhaps, if they made them less scripted and more approachable students would feel more inclined to join in on the conversation, but it needs to be genuine and relatable in order to convince and attract students.

Of course this is just my perspective, I am sure not everyone feels this way, and some might even find them entertaining.

Check out our story!

 

Leave a Reply

